On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Chargers Champions



School Grant Selection Team – Working with the County Office of Education, Chargers Champions sought to identify the important backgrounds necessary to fairly evaluate all proposals received and to ensure a good cross background of business, community, fitness and athletic educators, as well as school administrators. From their recommendations the Chargers Champions School Selection Team was formed.

The Selection Team meets as a group and reviews all grant submissions that have passed the first round review. This first round review checks to be sure that applications are complete and have been submitted properly, and that the grant proposal meets the stated guidelines of the program. Partially completed grant applications or applications with missing information are not considered.

The Selection Team then reviews each remaining application on its own merits and selects a group of finalists. After the finalists have been selected, site visits are scheduled to ensure accuracy of grant applications before finalizing decisions on grant awards.

School Grant Selection Team

Edward Brown - President/Chief Operating Officer, Cymer, Inc.

Marilyn Brown - Vice President, Silberrad Inc.

Jim Esterbrooks - California Interscholastic Federation

Pat Nevin - General Manager, KFMB

Lawrence Henry - Market President, Union Bank

John Shacklett - High School Sports Association

A.G. Spanos - Executive Vice President/Executive Officer, San Diego Chargers

John Spanos - Executive Vice President Football Operations, San Diego Chargers

Bruce Ward - San Diego Unified School District

Chargers Champions application deadline is May 2nd, 2014