On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Community Foundation


2014 Coach of the Week Winners Honored at Chargers vs. Denver Game

Chargers Honor High School Coaches! 

For more than a decade, the San Diego Chargers have teamed up with the NFL to host the Chargers’ annual High School Coach of the Week program.  Annually, this program recognizes high school football coaches who have made a difference in the lives of their players through leadership, hard work and a special dedication to their young scholar athletes. 

Each week during the 2014 high school football season, the Chargers teamed up with the California National Guard to select one outstanding Head Coach from throughout San Diego County to name as the High School Coach of the Week.  The Coach received a $1,500 donation from the team for their school’s athletic programs and the selected coach was then highlighted on the KUSI Prep Pigskin Report.  

At the end of the season one coach was selected as the overall Chargers Coach of the Year, and for the 2014 season the Chargers were delighted to select – Ron Burner from El Capitan High School!

In honor of Coach Burner’s selection, the Chargers made an additional $2,500 donation to El Capitan High School’s athletic program.  Coach Burner was also honored on December 16th by Chargers Executive Vice President, A.G. Spanos as part of the annual PPR Silver Pigskin Gala.  

Congratulations to El Capitan High School and Coach Ron Burner – the 2014 Chargers/California National Guard High School Coach of the Year and all of the 2014 High School Coaches of the Week!

2014 Coaches of the Week

Week #1 - Troy Starr, Helix Charter High School

Week #2 - Shaun McDade, Mount Miguel High School

Week #3 - John Roberts, El Camino High School

Week #4 - Ron Hamamoto, Monte Vista High School

Week #5 - Jason Patterson, Orange Glen High School

Week #6 - Ron Burner, El Capitan High School

Week #7 - Hans Graham, Castle Park High School

Week #8 - Dan Williams, Vista High School

Week #9 - Jerry Ralph, Hoover High School

Week #10 - Tristan McCoy, Rancho Bernardo High School

Week #11 - Casey Ash, West Hills High School

Week #12 - John Anderson, Mount Carmel High School

Week #13 - Kellan Cobbs, Granite Hills High School


 Chargers High School Coaches of the Year:

2014 - Ron Burner -  El Capitan High School

2013 - Mike Wright - Crawford High School

2012 - David Dunn - Lincoln High School 

2011 - Dave Gross - Santana High School

2010 - Dan Williams - Vista High School    

2009 - Willie Matson - Mission Bay High School

2008 - Rick Jackson - Madison High School 

2007 - John Carroll - Oceanside High School

2006 - Ron Burner - El Capitan High School  

2005 - Coach Dave Hostetler - Valhalla High School