On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.



Football Season Kicks Off with Alex Spanos Classic

Posted Jul 9, 2014

The 24th Annual Alex Spanos Classic kicks off on Friday.

Prep football standouts from across San Diego County will square off in California’s longest-running high school all-star football game on Friday, July 11 in the 24th-annual Alex Spanos All-Star Classic. The game kicks off at 7:00 p.m. at Mesa College Stadium.

As a gathering of the best graduating seniors in the County, the Spanos Classic provides players and their families with lasting memories and one final opportunity to demonstrate their skills before continuing their football careers on the collegiate level. San Diego residents have come to see the game as an annual tradition and summer staple.

The North squad will be coached by Tony Corley from San Pasqual High School and the South squad will be coached by Tom Karlo from Grossmont High School.  The North team holds a slight 10-9 advantage since the game went to North-South format.

The game will also feature the first official appearance of the 2014 Chargers Girls squad.

Chargers owner Alex Spanos began support of the all-star game more than two decades ago when the future of the game was in jeopardy.  Since that time, the Spanos Classic has grown to become the preeminent all-star football game in California.

The long list of Spanos Classic alums who have gone on to play in the National Football League includes former Chargers linebacker Donnie Edwards (Chula Vista High), former Buccaneers and Broncos safety John Lynch (Torrey Pines High), and former Cowboys and Rams defensive tackle La’ Roi Glover (Point Loma High).

Tickets for the game are available at the gate and are $10 for adults and $5 for children. All proceeds go to support the High School Sports Association of San Diego.  

North vs. South Results                                            
2013     South 41, North 7
2012     South 14, North 10
2011     South 27, North 7
2010     North 23, South 3
2009     South 10, North 6
2008     North 14, South 7
2007     South 14, North 0
2006     South 20, North 19
2005     North 28, South 7
2004     South 43, North 7
2003     North 20, South 14
2002     North 16, South 13
2001     North 31, South 26
2000     South 10, North 7
1999     North 44, South 16
1998     North 40, South 7
1997     South 14, North 7
1996     North 23, South 0
1995     North 24, South 23

Keep up to date with you Chargers! Sign Up Now!.
Add Your Comment:

Guidelines: Please keep your comments relevant to the topic and appropriate. Abusive or combatant comments towards other fans will not be tolerated and will be removed from display on this site. Use the "Report Abuse" link to help keep the Chargers community at its best.